Daily life, advice and reviews from an everyday mummy.

Can I have it all?

This is a question I ask all the time.

Can I have it all?
I have recently been thinking about changing the way my career is progressing. I opted to apply for a completely new role which also requires a university course alongside. Amazingly I got the role and September 1st I start this new adventure.

However in the back of my mind, I feel guilty. I feel guilty that I am putting my focus in the wrong place. Should I be concentrating on my children whilst they are still very young? Bear is only 13 months and Dude is 4.5.
I stayed at home on maternity leave for 12 months. Don’t get me wrong I loved the time with my children but I needed something for myself in the end. I felt like my days needed a purpose, an aim and some adult conversation over something other than poo habits and sore nipples.

My return to my current job has had minimal effects on my children and we still get to do our fun days, toddler groups as well as our more mundane tasks of cleaning and washing. Its about maintaining that balance so that your children feel they are always first. I no longer stay late at work, I don’t offer to do the overtime and I have the flexibility to plan my shifts to fit my childrens lives.

I don’t know what this new role will bring. I hope to study and complete assignments in the evenings when the children are in bed. My working hours are less than my current role and therefore I shop the children will not notice this change at all!

So, the question…Can I have it all?

I dont believe I can have it all. I believe that I should still have my own aims and aspirations but I should and I will always put my children first. If anything I try becomes detrimental to my children’s lives I will put it on hold.

Only time will tell how this new role will affect our family however if I don’t at least try I know I will always regret!

Comments on: "Can I have it all?" (1)

  1. It looks like you are doing a fabulous job trying to better your career for your family so well down your for that. Your working hard mama! Congratulations on your new job that’s fantastic. You wIll find a balance for everything lovely X

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

